SQL Server Performance

Help! - optimize speed of Stored Procedure(s)

Discussion in 'SQL Server 2005 Performance Tuning for DBAs' started by sql_jr, May 21, 2008.

1. sql_jr New Member

I have been asked based on trace output to do analysis and performance optimization on some sql SP's that have the highest duration. The front-end is a high-traffic ecommerce web-site. Generally, my testing shows the data returns (in less than a second), sometimes 1-2 seconds - apparently this is NOT good enough for them. Not sure where to go next to try to increase this speed.
    When I turn on Exec Plan, I see that there is a temporary table variable that obviously does a table scan, but this is only 18% of 17% of the total query cost, and then 50% of 6% of the total query cost in the respective batches. Am I even looking at the right stats and is this the problem area? Everything else "looks" ok, for ex a 100% Clustered Index Seek - isn't this most desirable? Since I am not a Perf expert, please provide some insight and tips. (I guess they want result returned before they execute it [:p] - joke) THX IN ADVANCE!
  2. MichaelB Member

I read that you were told to do some tracing, but I dont hear much about the results. How much tracing did you do? I would recommend going to http://vyaskn.tripod.com/server_side_tracing_in_sql_server.htm and implementing some server side tracing which is quite powerful for longer term tracing. I would suggest capturing the results and intserting them into a table when you close the trace. I like to run 10 min traces every hour and examine the results. Get quantity of those traces too to see what is called a lot. For example, if you have one query that takes 2 seconds, but it is called several hundered times a day, that would be a good one to look at compared to one that takes 1 second but runs once.