SQL Server Performance

OLAP - From Spanish Forum

Discussion in 'Analysis Services/Data Warehousing' started by Luis Martin, Oct 31, 2003.

  1. Luis Martin Moderator

    I'm try to connect to OLAP database ussing:

    dim cat
    set cat=server.CreateObject("ADOMD.Catalog")
    cat.ActiveConnection="PROVIDER=MSOLAP.2;Data Source=HHARO;Initial Catalog=FoodMart 2000;"

    But I get the following error:

    Microsoft® OLE DB Provider for Analysis Services (0x80004005)
    Database 'FoodMart 2000' does not exist.

    IIS, Analysis Server, and SQL server all in same server.
    No database restriccion.







    Luis Martin

    ...Thus mathematics may be defined as the subject in which we never know what we are talking about, nor whether what we are saying is true.
    Bertrand Russell
  2. bradmcgehee New Member

    Is there a space in "FoodMart 2000" in your code? If so, that may be the cause.

    -----------------------------
    Brad M. McGehee, MVP
    Webmaster
    SQL-Server-Performance.Com
  3. hharo New Member

    Hi, i'm the guy from the Spanish Forum.

    Yes, there's a space in the DW's name buy i've tried with -- Initial Catalog=[FoodMart 2000] -- and that's not the problem. Anyway, i've tried que another DBs without spaces in the name.

    ¿Do i have to config anything special to access the Analysis Server from an ASP page?

    thanks in advance,

    Hh
  4. satya Moderator

  5. hharo New Member

    Thanks... i'm working on it
    If you've any other suggestion, i'll be please to hear you

    Hh
  6. satya Moderator

    What is the connection timeout property value?

    _________
    Satya SKJ
    Moderator
    SQL-Server-Performance.Com
  7. hharo New Member

    15
    I'm trying some of the samples from the Microsoft Analysis Services buy i get allways "Database does not exist"

    Hh
  8. satya Moderator

    Check from OLAP manager whether the database exists.

    _________
    Satya SKJ
    Moderator
    SQL-Server-Performance.Com
  9. hharo New Member

    All the DBs exists in the Analysis Server (OLAP manager)


    Hh
  10. satya Moderator

    Have you followed from the specified KBAs above and what is the level of service pack on OLAP?

    _________
    Satya SKJ
    Moderator
    SQL-Server-Performance.Com
  11. hharo New Member

    All the DBs exists in the Analysis Manager (OLAP manager)


    Hh
  12. bradmcgehee New Member

    I wonder if it is possible that the character set you are using for your current installation is different from that used by Microsoft used to create this database, and that this might be part of the problem? This is just a guess, but since you always get the "database does not exist" error, I would still have to guess that somehow SQL Server just does not recognize how you are entering the database's name.

    -----------------------------
    Brad M. McGehee, MVP
    Webmaster
    SQL-Server-Performance.Com
  13. hharo New Member

    Thanks Brad, but i've created a DB by my own but i can't access it neither.<br /><br />Set cnn = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")<br />cnn.ConnectionTimeout = 30<br />cnn.Open "Data Source=hharo<img src='/community/emoticons/emotion-4.gif' alt=';P' />rovider=MSOLAP;"<br />cnn.DefaultDatabase = "DATABASE" &lt;-------------<br /><br />the last line fails. "invalid property value"<br /><br />any idea?<br />thanks for the help<br /><br /><br />Hh
  14. bradmcgehee New Member

    Sorry, but I am at a loss right now. If I was you, I would check all the basics, and if necessary, reinstall the software. I imagine that the cause of the problem is simple, only you can figure out what it is.

    -----------------------------
    Brad M. McGehee, MVP
    Webmaster
    SQL-Server-Performance.Com
  15. hharo New Member

    Thanks

    Hh
  16. hharo New Member

    it's solved!

    i've to reinstall the software.
    thanks for the help and have a nice day

    see ya,



    Hh
  17. anwar New Member

    Hi all,

    I am not so sure whether to submit my question as new topic, since i think, my problem is related to this topic, although it has additional problem.

    There is no problem with connection to Foodmart 2000, using asp and excel, however for other databases, they are only available in excel.

    'Error messages
    Microsoft® OLE DB Provider for Analysis Services (0x80004005)
    Database 'DSI' does not exist.

    Since i could connect to other database using excel pivot table, using macro recorder, i copied the connection string to my asp codes but it's not working either.

    'Connection string
    strConnectionOLAP="Provider=MSOLAP.2;Data Source=svr_dev;" & _
    "Initial Catalog=DSI;Client Cache Size=25;Auto Synch Period=10000"

    All IIS, SQL2000 and analysis server resides on the same machine. I am using service pack 3 for SQL and OLAP.

    Also tried to renstall the OLAP server but it is solved the problem.

    Thanks


    AN
  18. anwar New Member

    Sorry,

    typing error, the last word should said

    Also tried to reinstall the OLAP server but it's not solved the problem

    AN
  19. stevefromOZ New Member

    A couple of things to alwys check re:connectivity.

    Ensure that you have provided users access to the cubes either via roles (preferred method) or by putting them in the Olap Admins (Windows) user group.

    Make sure you know "who" you are when attempting your connection. If you're using EXcel, then you'll be the currently logged on user (note this can be modified via a conxn string setting though! quite neat), but if you're using say asp.net, then if you've not set Integrated Security, then you're most likely connecting as the ASPNET user created by ASP.net/.netframework when installed. This user will need permissions... Or change user.

    Lastly, I have seen cases where the catalogs are visible but the cubes aren't - this is often caused by the "visible" property being changed to 'false' - somehow - the users insist they didn't do it, but as yet I haven't seen how the server would do it for them.

    HTH,

    Steve
  20. anwar New Member

    The problem relies on OLAP server roles. Although i am an olap admin, my collegues
    modify the role and forget to add my account.

    Now my connection is running again.

    Thank you



    AN

Share This Page