SQL Server Performance

SQL Cluster Service Account fails to login

Discussion in 'SQL Server 2005 Clustering' started by hany_buzz, May 28, 2008.

1. hany_buzz New Member

i'm a dba in acompany which has two cluster nodes with two instances , we deployed microsoft dpm for data protection , and we scheduled the dpm backup every 15 minites on the cluster , and every 15 minites the i found in the application event log that tha SQL Cluster Service Account fails to login
    i donot know why , if any one have an idea please tell me coz its very big problem for me
    thanks any way
  2. satya Moderator

Welcome to the forum.
    Is that cluster service account a local admin & domain admin on this environment?
    What is the error you are getting?
    Check whether password is not expired.
  3. hany_buzz New Member

thanks for your fast replay
    i got afailure audit Login failed for user 'SAsrvc-SQLCI-sqla'.
    this account is amember of adomain group that has access to sql server as apuplic ans security admin role
    but this account isn't alocal admin on the machin , should it be ?
  4. satya Moderator

Oh yes it should be [:)].
  5. hany_buzz New Member

6. hany_buzz New Member

7. hany_buzz New Member

8. hany_buzz New Member

Dear satya ;
    thanks alot , i'll make the account of the cluster service alocal admin on both nodes , and i'll tell u the result
    thanks again for your help
  9. hany_buzz New Member

i made the SQL Cluster Service Account alocal admin on both nodes , but i still receiving the same fail audit , any idea?
  10. satya Moderator

Do you have correct state of cluster or not?
    Can you perform a failover for cluster nodes in this case?
    Ensure the builtinadminsitrator group is not removed from SQL Server.
  11. hany_buzz New Member

Dear ;
    what do you mean by correct state of cluster ?
    yes i can perform a failover for cluster nodes in this state
    the builtinadministrator group is there
  12. moh_hassan20 New Member