SQL Server Performance

Very Complicated Stored Proc

Discussion in 'General Developer Questions' started by monfu, Nov 28, 2005.

1. monfu New Member

Sorry did not give you an explanation :_

I am working on a stored proc the previous developer before me developer, and its giving errors. However, since I am not very experienced in stored procs, I cannot seem to find the error.

I am assuming its something to do with the dates. Cause previously, the dates where entered in the databse as varchar(20)! And I amended this to datetime. However, since I amended that, the search is not working anymore.

I am assuming the dates are not in a correct format.

I am passing the parameters to the stored proc as follows:-

@dtFrom = "01/01/2000"
    @dtTo = "01/01/2099"

Here is the stored proc:-

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
    CREATE PROCEDURE [dbo].[stpEventsSearchResult]
    @searchstring varchar(100),
    @dtFrom datetime,
    @dtTo datetime,
    @region int,
    @school int,
    @ri_id int,
    @i_id int,
    @searchtype int
    AS
    If @region = 0
    BEGIN
    Set @region = -1
    END
    If @searchtype = 0
    BEGIN
    Select * from pod_Events WHERE e_title LIKE @searchstring or e_description LIKE @searchstring
    END
    else
    BEGIN
    if @region > 0
    BEGIN
    if @ri_id > 0
    BEGIN
    if @i_id > 0
    BEGIN
    if @school > 0
    BEGIN
    Select * from pod_Events INNER JOIN pod_Event_Inv ON pod_Events.id_e = pod_Event_Inv.id_e INNER JOIN pod_Event_RI ON pod_Events.id_e = pod_Event_RI.id_e INNER JOIN pod_Users ON pod_Events.id_u = pod_Users.id_u INNER JOIN pod_Users_Schools ON pod_Users.id_u = pod_Users_Schools.id_u INNER JOIN pod_Schools ON pod_Users_Schools.id_s = pod_Schools.id_s INNER JOIN pod_Zone ON pod_Schools.id_z = pod_Zone.id_z