SQL Server Performance

why is performance tuning important?

Discussion in 'Performance Tuning for DBAs' started by villaco, Jul 26, 2003.

1. villaco New Member

Hello everybody
    Let me introduce me
    I have already read some of the topics of this forum and I am really surprised, there are topics very interesting. Like u suspect I am only a novice in this world of SQL but I am very entusiast. I have a couple questions about performance tuning.
    What is the goal of to do the performance tuning?
    How do you get the performance tuning?
    It's significant the time you save when you optimize an query?
    What techniques do you implement?
    what is Semantic Query Optimization?
    I am already reading about this but I consider that the opinion of a profesional is better than the theory.
    thank u
    Villaco
  2. Chappy New Member

The goal of performance tuning is to (re)design and (re)implement components of systems to allow them to respond faster, more efficiently, and allow for greater scalability.
    These components can be client code, or db design / stored procs / query design etc.
    This is very important for most systems, as most systems tend to grow in size and complexity, as they mature. If you have underlying performance flaws to begin with, these will become more problematic as the system grows.

The time saved by performance tuning *can* be significant. Part of the expertise in tuning is deciding which aspects to concentrate on. If a query takes 3 seconds but is executed every 5 seconds, then in most cases it would be preferable to optimise this, rather than spending time speeding up a query which takes 4 minutes, but only runs once a day.

The techniques for performance tuning are discussed throughout the site. Start reading your way through the papers and essays. There are no hard and fast rules to follow, but Brad has made a performance tuning checklist which will help get you started.

Hope this helps

3. vbkenya New Member